Magazine

Design Thinking Workshop

Stefan Schmitt

Learn Design Thinking and apply it successfully

Design Thinking, the innovative approach, which is used to develop new ideas and solve problems, is used by international companies from various industries, whether IT, industry or banking. From SAP to Pinterest, from Airbnb to Siemens, many companies rely on this user-centric innovation method. Why Design Thinking is so successful and why mastering it is essential today is the subject of this article.

XDi-Design Thinking Workshop

What is Design Thinking?

The five-step approach of Discover, Define, Design, Develop and Evaluate can be applied universally to problems of all kinds – even to one’s own life, according to renowned experts such as Burnett and Evans – and this is certainly where its popularity lies.

Design Thinking is not so much a method or a process as an approach to a solution. And while this requires an interdisciplinary environment and consists of a predefined structure and a set of creative techniques, it remains relatively flexible in its implementation. This is the greatest strength of Design Thinking and at the same time the greatest challenge for all those who want to learn and apply this approach.

DESIGN THINKING CERTIFICATION:
5 days – Design Thinking Training — Mastering and applying Design Thinking

Design Thinking — the innovative approach to problem solving

What is actually innovative about Design Thinking is on the one hand the primary focus on solving the problems of real users and the resulting real user benefits; on the other hand it is the equivalence of processes, space and people. To put it simply: without an inspiring space and without a heterogeneous team, no new ideas emerge that ultimately inspire users. The needs of people who use a product can be better recognized and served by people who consciously promote their own creativity.

Another essential component of the approach is the rapid creation of a prototype that real users can immediately test.

Starting from different application areas, different methods are selected for the different stages of Design Thinking: This flexibility can seem very complex at first. But what many people know, and what Design Thinking is all about, is user research.

What is the place of user research in the design thinking approach?

User Research and Co-Creation: Welcome to  User Centered Design

Wherever user-oriented work is carried out, the process stands or falls with user research. Many are familiar with the analysis of the usage concept and the creation of user profiles. Data and requirements are collected, technical inventories made, solutions developed and presented to the users. In Design Thinking, we speak of user persona and customer journey mapping. In User Centered Design, the asymmetry in the company-customer relationship is eliminated by means of co-creation. The customer actively participates in the design process during the research and test phases.

DESIGN THINKING WORKSHOP:
All Methods, countless templates, best practices — with internationally recognized certificate

XDi-Design-Thinking-Workshop_Prototyping_Lego

Prototyping and Testing

In times of fast moving products, saturated markets and (rightly) rising customer expectations, time is a decisive factor in developing products, services and problem solutions. In design thinking, rapid prototyping, testing and evaluation are replacing the classic, slower approach, which would have brought us to the agile methods, especially in the software and start-up sectors.

Agile methods in a brief comparison

Like Design Sprint, Lean Startup, Scrum and Business Model Canvas, Design Thinking is one of the so-called Agile Methods, whereby it is explicitly – first difference – not defined as a method in the e.g. sense.

In addition, design thinking can be used as an approach and thus part of the corporate culture at practically every entrepreneurial process level. Design Sprint is perfect for tight product development, Lean Startup for measuring a concrete business idea, while Scrum implements clear product specifications in an agile way and Business Model Canvas helps to plan a concrete business idea tightly and clearly.

Design Thinking Workshop

If you want to learn innovative, user-centric development with Design Thinking certification, this five-day DT360° Design Thinking Workshop is for you.

   5 Years XDi
  previous

Magazin

Design Thinking Workshop

Stefan Schmitt

Design Thinking lernen und erfolgreich anwenden

Design Thinking, also der innovative Ansatz, der zum Entwickeln neuer Ideen und zur Problemlösung eingesetzt wird, wird von internationalen Unternehmen aus verschiedenen Branchen verwendet, ob IT, Industrie oder Bankwesen. Von SAP bis Pinterest, von Airbnb bis Siemens, viele Unternehmen setzen auf diese anwenderzentrierte Innovationsmethode. Warum Design Thinking so erfolgreich ist und wieso es zu beherrschen heute essentiell ist, damit befassen wir uns in diesem Artikel.

XDi-Design Thinking Workshop

Was ist Design Thinking?

Der durch fünf Schritte definierte Ansatz aus Discover, Define, Design, Develop und Evaluate lässt sich universell auf Probleme aller Art anwenden — laut renommierten Experten wie Burnett und Evans sogar auf das eigene Leben — und darin liegt mit Sicherheit seine Beliebtheit begründet.

Design Thinking ist weniger eine Methode oder ein Prozess, vielmehr ist es ein Lösungsansatz. Und verlangt dieser zwar unabdingbar nach einem interdisziplinärem Umfeld und besteht er aus einer vordefinierten Struktur und einem Set an Kreativtechniken, bleibt er dennoch in seiner Umsetzung relativ flexibel. Das ist die größte Stärke von Design Thinking und zugleich die größte Herausforderung für all diejenigen, die diesen Ansatz lernen und anwenden wollen.

DESIGN THINKING ZERTIFIZIERUNG:
5-Tage Design Thinking Seminar — Design Thinking beherrschen und anwenden

Design Thinking — der innovative Denkansatz zur Problemlösung

Das eigentlich Innovative an Design Thinking ist zum einen die primäre Orientierung auf das Lösen der Probleme echter Anwender und daraus resultierenden echten Anwendernutzen; zum anderen ist es die Gleichwertigkeit von Prozessen, Raum und Menschen. Einfach ausgedrückt: Ohne einen inspirierenden Raum und ohne ein möglichst heterogenes Team entstehen keine neuen Ideen, die die Nutzer am Ende begeistern. Die Bedürfnisse von Menschen, die ein Produkt nutzen, können von Menschen, die ihre eigene Kreativität bewusst fördern, besser erkannt und bedient werden.

Ein weiterer essentieller Bestandteil des Ansatzes ist das schnelle Erstellen eines Prototyps, den echte Anwender umgehend testen können.

Ausgehend von verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen werden verschiedene Methoden für die verschiedenen Stadien von Design Thinking ausgewählt: Diese Flexibilität kann am Anfang als sehr komplex erscheinen. Was viele jedoch kennen, und was zu Design Thinking unbedingt dazu gehört, ist der User Research.

Welchen Platz nimmt User Research im Design Thinking Ansatz ein?

User Research und Co-Creation: Willkommen beim User Centered Design

Dort, wo nutzerorientiert gearbeitet wird, steht und fällt der Prozess mit dem User Research. Viele sind mit der Analyse des Nutzungskonzeptes und der Erstellung von Nutzerprofilen vertraut. Daten und Anforderungen werden gesammelt, technische Bestandsaufnahmen gemacht, Lösungsansätze entwickelt und den Usern präsentiert. Im Design Thinking spricht man da u.a. von der User Persona und dem Customer Journey Mapping. Beim User Centered Design wird mittels Co-Creation die Asymmetrie im Unternehmen-Kunde-Verhältnis aufgehoben. Der Kunde nimmt am Designprozess während der Recherche- wie während der Testphase aktiv teil.

DESIGN THINKING WORKSHOP:
Alle Methoden, unzählige Vorlagen, Best Practices — mit international anerkanntem Zertifikat

XDi-Design-Thinking-Workshop_Prototyping_Lego

Prototyping und Testing

In Zeiten schnelllebiger Produkte, gesättigter Märkte und (zurecht) steigender Kundenerwartungen ist Zeit ein entscheidender Faktor beim Entwickeln von Produkten, Services und Problemlösungen. Im Design Thinking löst das schnelle Prototypen, Testen und Auswerten die klassische, langsamere Herangehensweise ab, womit wir, vor allem im Bereich Software und Startup, bei den Agilen Methoden angekommen wären.

Agile Methoden im Kurzvergleich

Wie Design Sprint, Lean Startup, Scrum und Business Model Canvas gehört auch Design Thinking zu den sogenannten Agilen Methoden dazu, wobei es ausdrücklich — erster Unterschied — nicht als Methode i.e.S. definiert ist.

Zudem lässt sich der Design Thinking als Ansatz und somit Teil der Unternehmenskultur praktisch auf jeder unternehmerischen Prozessstufe einsetzen. Dem gegenüber stehen straffer definierte Einsatzbereiche der o.g. Agilen Methoden: So eignet sich Design Sprint perfekt zur straffen Produktentwicklung, Lean Startup zum Messen einer konkreten Unternehmensidee, während Scrum klare Produktvorgaben agil umsetzt und Business Model Canvas eine konkrete Unternehmensidee straff und klar durchplanen hilft.

Design Thinking Workshop

Wer die innovative, nutzerzentrierte Entwicklung mit Design Thinking Zertifizierung lernen will, ist bei diesem fünftägigen DT360° Design Thinking Workshop genau richtig.

   5 Jahre XDi
  vorheriger